Sunday, December 26, 2010

It was a very MERRY CHRISTMAS indeed!!!

Christmas has come & gone... however, the joy of it is still lingering...

Our (Hubby & I) twin nephews were baptized this morning... by their father! (Hubby's brother!) It was so wonderful to be able to be there to see it.

I say that, because, this past Thursday I was pretty bad & was not sure how I was going to make it to Christmas without possibly going to the ER to get some relief from the extreme pressure & throbbing headache I was having... so I broke down & took a Vicodin during the day, Thursday, & by bedtime, I took 4 Ibuprofen w/ the Benadryl...

I woke up feeling much better Christmas Eve day! Made it to the candlelight service... & "Christmas at the Farm" (my side of the family), that evening.

I only survived all that because I was taking 4 Ibuprofen about every 5 hours... by the time we got home that night, I was in a lot of pain... but after a night sleep, I was better again... & was able to enjoy Christmas morning with my hubby & my doggies.. then onto his mom's for Christmas with her, Hubby's brother & sister-in-law & their family. (4 kids... one is 4 year's old!) Was a blast! That little one is so funny... he definitely has his dad's (& uncle's) sense of humor!! Well, all the kids do! ;o)

However, after all the activities yesterday... I was in poor shape again last night... but had found out the twins were going to be baptized this morning... & I knew I wanted to make that.

So, I went to sleep early last night... woke up at 9:30a & made it to church. WOO HOO! Victory for me! ... no...

VICTORY for the twins! It's a tough choice to want to make a commitment like that!... yet, they have wonderful loving parents; big sister; & grandma (& of course their Aunt Lady Harley & their uncle, (my hubby)... not to mention our fabulous church family!) who will guide them in this early stages of their "new" life & their life walk with Jesus!

It was the best Christmas gift any of us in the family (& to Jesus!) could have ever received! We're all so proud of them!!!

It's been a LONG eventful... fun-filled & blessed week. Glad I was able to get through & participate!!!


OH... Another great thing... we had a WHITE Christmas too! At one point yesterday, Hubby & his brother went out to the truck to get the "big" gift for their mom... & when I was standing at the door, ready to hold it open for them (& was taking video too, LOL) I said "It's snowing!"... even though no one else really seemed to be excited or impressed... I was!! *grins*

Now, I'm ready for a few days on the couch, in front of the fire (see picture above) & watching tv!!! ;o)

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Welcome to Winter

Did you get to see the once in a lifetime SPECIAL Lunar Eclipse last night? (Check out that link for a cool photo of it! ... scroll through to see some other wonderful shots, too!) Unfortunately, I did not get to see it. There was complete cloud cover here... & it was supposed to be snowing. Besides, I went to bed early... early for me... before Midnight!  (I might just be getting back into a better sleeping pattern... will see how long it lasts!)

Oh, yes, I know, lunar eclipses happen more than that... HOWEVER, last night's was so rare, last time it happened Galileo was alive. (At least that's what one of my Facebook friends said last night. LOL)

What made it so special was that it was a TOTAL eclipse & coincided with the Winter Solstice "arrival". 1638 was the last time this happened & December 21, 2094 is when it will happen again. (Here is a link to some other photos of this rarity!)

That's right, in the Northern hemisphere of Earth, WINTER HAS ARRIVED!!! WOO HOOO!!!

For my Aussie friend(s) & anyone else in the Southern half... it is Summer... so, for you... WELCOME TO SUMMER! I sure hope it's not has hot as it was last year for you!

Now onto why I really started this blog, today...

This morning I took the dogs into the groomers to get their Christmas bath. LOL... & since I was out and had not eaten yet... I decided to go ahead to the laboratory to get my blood work done for my doctor's appointment next week. (Had to be fasting!)

Well, the appointment was actually supposed to be today, but my ride (my mom) ended up having a dentist appointment... & since her dentist rearranged his schedule to fit her in... well, it took precedence. Besides, I had forgotten to the blood work last week anyway. LOL. (She (or someone) has to take me, because my family doctor is now 30+ miles away. :-/ ... & to be safe, I am still not driving that far myself. I can drive short distances & as long as I'm not doing much, (like shopping). Otherwise, I have someone else take me... or pick up stuff for me. (ie: My hubby.) ;o)

Oh, before I continue... just so no one (DAD!) worries... this was just a normal routine check up. It's just a check of my thyroid & a cholesterol levels. That's also, what the doctor's visit will be about. Along with getting established at his new office.

So, anyway, I go into this place & hand over my script for the blood work & sit down to wait to be called. A young girl (I'd say about 10 to 13 in age... maybe slightly younger?) was sitting waiting her turn. (At least I thought that's what she was waiting on... seems she actually had to wait until so much time had passed from when she had eaten last. No, I didn't ask... just what I had heard her & her mom talking about it.)

Just as I get seated, she pops up to the window & ask, "What time is it?". The nurse gives her the time & she sits back down. Her dad (I presume) who appears to try to be reading a magazine says to her, "Say 'Thank You'." The girl mumbles "Thanks"... so softly, that I bet the nurse never heard her.

Then the dad proceeded to say something to the fact that she needs to be a bit less "demanding" & how she's probably not aware of how she is coming across. She is sitting there playing her Nintendo DS (little hand held video game) & replies "Blah, blah, blah".

At which point, I decided to lay my head back against the wall (ouch, forgot my pillow, to support my neck! *sighs*) & started thinking to myself... how DISRESPECTFUL she was... Not just to her dad, but also to the nurse... AND to all of the rest of us in the waiting room, because she was playing with her game with the sound up... & I mean it wasn't soft... it was loud enough I could tell when she had "lost a life" or what have you!

Then she keeps asking her mom, "when can I go back?", in not such a nice or soft voice, mind you. The mom softly replies "They'll call you when it's time."

A couple moments later she shuts off her game in haste & then pops up to the window & asks if she could have some water. They nurse there said, it was out in the lobby. & She then verified if she was allowed to have water. It was confirmed yes... & as she's walking out, she tells her mom, "I told you so!" (very rudely... not in a fun way!)

I, jokingly, say to the mom, while she's gone: "Now they'll probably call her name." She just smiled.

The girl returns & is bouncing back & forth in her chair. Then, one of the other nurses calls back an older lady & the girl turns to her mom & exclaims: "She was here way after us!"

Calmly the mom replies, "You have to wait until so much time has passed since you ate."

She's like: "I'm so bored in this place." ... No response from the mom. A few seconds pass & she says: "I want a candy cane." ... again, no response from the mom. Good for her! ;o)

Oh, a few moments prior to this, the dad left & was sitting in the lobby... (I knew this, because I went out for a drink of water too, just after the girl came back in.) I guess he had enough of his daughter's impatience.

Thankfully it was only about a minute later, I was called back. Had the mom had not said something about her having to wait, I would have said she could have gone ahead of me... but since she did... I didn't! ;)

As I'm walking back, the girl pops back up to the window & asks the nurse, "How much long do I have to wait?" The nurse looks at the clock & sweetly replies "About 5 minutes."

After I got in my truck & started back home, I thought of how that is basically how a lot of kids are nowadays... & it's such a shame. & Thought, "Wow, had that been one of us growing up... we would have been grounded."

I was thinking of how rude it was of the girl to sit there with her game up so loud... & the mom, nor the dad said anything. I guess they figured they didn't want to create "a scene"... she's probably threw fits before when they'd ask.

Tell you what... Had it been me, I would have said turn it down or I'm taking it away... & if any flack was given, I would have ripped that game out of her hand and put it in my purse. Then said, "You'll get it back in the car, if you remain quiet until we leave... if you don't, you'll not get it back until... however long I thought at the time would make the point clear."

Yeah, probably would have been met with some major resistance & probably crying or screaming... but I would needed to have stood my ground.

Ok, ok... it's easy to say that now... & I'm sure that mom was probably tired of listening to her girl's whining & figured that was the best way to keep her quiet. What gets me is that some parents just let their kids get away with it. And then we all wonder why they are all so disrespectful.

I'd like to know where child rearing has gone so wrong that the kids will not respect their elders... or anyone else, for that fact.

Again, that's all easy for me to say from my perspective... I did not have the benefit of raising my son after his dad & I divorced. Seeing how he is now & comparing him at the age of this young girl I saw today... well, I feel for that mother.

For, I do know that there are times, even now with my son at the age of 21, that I just get tired of trying to "correct" him... that I'm like "Whatever!!!"

When did we all get so complacent about teaching our children to be respectful & courteous... & teaching them "Please & Thank you??"... YES, I am including myself in this "all".

What changed in the past 20 years to make us give up teaching values & morals to the next generation? Again, I include myself in this, mainly because I was not that much part of rearing my son.

HOWEVER, I do know that my mom (who did the better part of raising him), tried her best to instill all that... He still though can be quite rude... And I try my best, when around him, to remind him... but of course, now that he's officially an "adult"... it's harder to try to correct him.

I do have to say, my son does have his moments that makes a mom (& his grandma) proud! He will do or say something that shows us that somewhere in there he knows how to act!

Ok... for anyone who may have a child like the above mentioned girl... I feel for you, because I'm sure it's extremely hard to try to teach, when so many other parents are not & they learn from those kids that it must be ok to act like this. (Make sense?)

Anyway, I'm not saying I'm the perfect parent... nor that any other is a bad parent. I just want to know what happened to make us (as in parents or grandparents) to let our kids just walk all over anyone older than them, who may just be trying to teach them!???

Whatever happened to "Children should be seen, not heard?" ;o)

Alright, I'll step down off the soap-box now... sure hope I didn't offend anyone... if so, I'm sorry... just keep in mind this is my opinion! ;o)

I have this sneaky feeling that my phone will be ringing soon with a call from my mom... or my dad... to say that I there were times, I was like that little girl in the waiting room today. But, why is it though, I can't recall ever being like that, when I was little? Hmmmm....



In case I don't blog again before (which I might... but I won't guarantee it!)... or even if you won't be around until afterward... I sure hope you & yours, have a WONDERFUL & very MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!


Thursday, December 16, 2010

Another edition of TOTs

Just going to go right into my thoughts today...

1. I've changed the background & darkened the text, so I hope it's easier to read now. ;o)

2. Yep, graphics are from my favorite place... Glitter-Graphics.com!!! :-D

3. Coleman is such a silly dog!... how silly you ask? I'll tell you... he will get up on the couch & a few minutes later he's on the floor... then few more minutes pass & he's back up on the couch again. LOL... That's what I love about him... if feeling down... he helps bring a smile to my face!!

4. So does Sunny, our other dog. She's just as goofy as Coleman. See, she likes to be under the blanket next to me when it's cold like it has been... She will stay there & even when I flip the blanket back to expose her nose a little, she will turn her nose so that she's completely buried... then scoots her back closer to my leg, as if... "I'm cold, Mom!" ~ *giggles*

5. Back to Coleman... I think his clock is off... or maybe it's just because he's getting old... Used to be Hubby could get them out in the morning & they'd both be content 'til he got back home from work. Well, not anymore... Coleman is usually barking or pacing about at least an hour before Hubby is usually due. (If not on overtime!)

6. Thankfully the days that I've had to go to the Cleveland Clinic for doctor's appointments or even when I was at my mom's recovering & no one was home... there were no "accidents". So, I'm just hoping that it's because he realizes I am home... & that I will let him out... I'm hoping it's not that he's over 10 years old now & that he might be starting to have to go more. *sighs*

7. Moving on... a couple weeks ago, a friend picked me up & took me to the stores so I could get some Christmas shopping done... Well... the presents are still sitting on the table... waiting for me to wrap them... Just haven't had the "oomph" to do it. I'll have to... only 8 days left...

8. Well actually 7... because most of these will be opened on Christmas Eve.

9. Which leads me to... Hubby & I usually spend Christmas afternoon & evening at his mom's with his brother & sister-in-law & their kids... This year... sounds like it will be at Noon on Christmas Eve... and it sounds like it's not going to get to be the nice relaxed (yet crazy fun!) time that we normally get... because there will be Christmas Eve candle light services... & then over to the farm (my family) for Christmas their. *sighs*

10. I didn't used to mind some changes... but seems, lately, everything is changing... & I'm starting to not like it when something changes... (not just referring to 8 & 9... just a lot of stuff!)

11. I must be getting old too! ;o)

12. Oh... I did get my Christmas tree up... it's simple this year... just lights that were already on it & hung a few golden icicle ornaments & 2 "Snow Buddies" ornaments (because I only have 2! *winks at family members who might be reading this!*)... & of course, an angel for the topper.

13. Don't be shocked... it's not PINK, (like the picture below)... Our tree actually has blue lights!! With the gold accents & the gold tree skirt... looks pretty. (Picture is on Facebook... I'll try to post one here shortly.) :o)

14. Why is it not PINK??? Oh, I have ornaments to do a pink colored tree... even pink lights too... it's just my mother-in-law does hers in this awesome blue & silver... & well, my hubby is not a fan of pink, either.

15. I was hoping that when we moved into this house that I could have put up both our little 4' tree for the blue & the bigger one I'd use the pink on... Well, there's just no room right now...

16. Maybe next year I'll figure something out ;) I do miss having a larger tree.

17. I'd really rather have a live one... just one year!!!

18. Ok... I'll stop now... They're just rambling thoughts now! ;o)

~*Toodles!*~

Thursday, December 9, 2010

How about some TOTs

For those who've not experienced this from me before, TOTs are simply: Thoughts on Thursday! (or some will do it on Tuesday.) Usually some bloggers here on Multiply will try to limit it to 10. Me... well, there's a reason why my blog is named: "The Rambling Train"... Yep, that's right... because I'm a rambler. (Which I'm sure many of you have had the pleasure of my ramblings even on Facebook!)

TOTs are nice, because it helps break up the "monotony" of a typical blog... meaning they are just random thoughts where 1 does not necessarily have to do with another in the list. Also, they're put in to a "bullet" fashion to make it easier to read.

Now that you all know what it is (or have been reminded of them) let's get started... & once again, like the title of yesterday's blog, remember you are on "The Rambling Train" ... where she stops... no on knows! ;) Actually, in TOTs, I do try to limit it... I said... TRY ;o)

Here goes...

1. Anytime I receive a text message now, I have to giggle... because my sister-in-law sent me a "sound" for my phone... it's of a kid giggling... sooooo cute!! ;o)

2. There's a reason why I tell my hubby not to talk politics when at a family gathering (such as Thanksgiving)... & have asked him to try to change the subject when someone else does... because no matter what you say, everyone has their own opinion about it.

3. Well, I should remember that when clicking on news articles before shutting off my computer at night! Got "involved" in the comments on an article posted on Yahoo News last night... AFTER I had already posted "G'd Night" to my Facebook (FB) status. 2 hours later, I was still awake & sharing a link to the article to my FB friends & family.

4. However, I learned something from that article... well, actually, from the "research" I did to back up my 1st comment to all the others posting... So, on my 2nd comment, I, basically, provided a link to the constitution's 14th Amendment & then said... MERRY CHRISTMAS... LOL...

5. Oh, & before I read & posted "that" article link to FB... I had posted one just before it, only because of the headline: "WH (White House) warns tax defeat could trigger new recession"... & I put my thought with it as: "So when did we get out of the "old" recession???"... LOL

6. I hadn't read the article... nor do I even really read stuff like that... I just thought the headline was funny, because it seems to me we're still in a bit of a slump in this country. However, my niece replied June of 2009 was what she remembered some economists stating was the end of the recession.... Um, really? That was the time my hubby was without a job... & was for over a year!

7. Grant it, my hubby is back to work (same place laid off) & he's working a lot of ... & I mean a LOT of overtime... however, I still hear of many who are without jobs. That's why the headline struck me as odd. So, how does one tell if the country is out of a recession? (Ok, for all who follow things like this... please, don't waste your time trying to explain it to me... I really meant that as a rhetorical / "ha ha" type of question.) ;o)

8. Remember... this is just MY thoughts... not necessarily trying to open a debate with anyone about anything. Just stating what's going through my mind.

9. And since it's been SOOOO long since I've done one of these TOTs... I will for sure pass 10 of them!

10. I guess the reason I haven't written a blog like this in a while, is because FB basically was an outlet to post my thoughts as they were going through my mind at the time. However, they don't get saved after so much time. (or after so many posts.)

11. If FB puts a limit on the # of posts it will go back to when clicking "show older posts"... then stuff I type up would get lost in a short time, because I play games over there that I like to share with others who play the same game. (For example: Bejeweled Blitz, you can share coins with other players when your "daily spin" is so much.)

12. So, my Multiply friends... now you know what has kept me from here for so long... it was the games! LOL!!

13. Actually, it was that an the fact I connected with a BUNCH of others who suffer from the same "invisible" disease as I do. (Chiari Malformation (CM)).

14. Wow, took 13 thoughts before I brought up CM... & that's all I'll say about it in this blog, because that's not what I wanted this blog to be about!

15. Besides, I have a separate blog site that I use now to talk about it. Even though, I haven't posted anything to it since 10-1 (about 8 weeks post op). Mainly because I was talking about it all again on FB.

16. One more thought about that... I think I'll update that blog today... BEFORE I get on FB... a lot has happened since the last post... as in regards to my surgery & etc. (That's it, no more talk about CM in this blog... I hope!!)

17. Oh, I'm proud of myself... not only have I blogged 2 days in a row here on Multiply... but I actually started this BEFORE being sucked into the world of Facebook... with it's games & all the status updates from family & friends (church & school friends, included with some new ones... even some of you from here, on Multiply!!!)

18. Yes, I said FAMILY... I have quite a few family members that I'm connected with over there on FB... & this one, I think my dad will like... My dad's brother's son... my 1st cousin... Mark... recently joined FB... & I have connected with him. (Though we've exchanged phone #'s... I have yet to talk to him... my doing... I keep forgetting!)

19. I do want to talk to him... we haven't spoken since his father (my dad's brother) passed away... many years ago. (At least 15?) & I really want to get in touch with him AND keep in contact with him... since my dad, he & I are the only ones living from that side of the family... from our generation, that is. (Meaning not including my son, or my cousin's kids, if any.)

20. See, it's been so long, I don't know if he has any kids!!!

21. Oh, the train has been derailed... by an arrival of an expected package. (But I won't talk about it, because it refers back to thoughts 13 through 16.) ;o)

22. Thinking there was a lot more I've been wanting to share, that's been on my mind.

23. I guess I don't have to share it all in one day & one blog. LOL!

24. So, with that, I guess I'll wrap this one up... HOWEVER....

25. Since it's Christmastime... I'll end with 25... & with a picture of the wonderful, scrumptious dessert that was served to us at this year's Christmas Craft Party. (It's same thing we get every year... because the hostess knows we all love it SOOO much.)



P.S. The photo at the top is from this morning... it was such a beautiful sunshine day that just made the snow sparkle.... just the way I LOVE IT!!! :o)

~*Toodles*~

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

The Rambling Train is back in services... where she stops...

On Facebook, there is a status update being passed around requesting that X-mas NOT be used, because it's taking Christ out of Christmas.

Another friend mentioned that X in the Greek alphabet stands for Christ... & that we should not be worried that Christ is not being left out.

However, I read another valid point when reading about the Greek letter X... most who speak English & not Greek do not know about what X stands for.

Some use it for a short cut... & some use it because they do NOT want to associate Christ with the holiday... those who purposely do not want to acknowledge "The Reason for the Season", & choose to use X-mas, may not realize, they in fact had put Christ back into it.

I used to despise seeing X-mas, however, knowing now the origin behind it is in fact Christian oriented... I won't be as offended.

With that said, I still will not use it though (unless absolutely necessary, if need to limit characters for something like Twitter.)... Mainly because most average English speaking citizens do not know the true meaning behind Xmas.

Also, take in account that the fish symbol used also bears the same X!! ;o)

So, now you know... & I'd say feel free to pass the word along about X is Christ in Greek... however, I'm afraid someone may get a burr under their saddle & start a protest against Xmas... but if you want to... go right ahead. ... Because I'm not the 1st to say it, nor will I probably be the last.

This is just a thought I've had for the past couple weeks that I wanted to share... & using my blog to do that, I felt might just help me get back into the blogging spirit! ;o)

Like the title says... "The Rambling Train is back in services... where she stops..." ... because I'm not done rambling yet.

Might be back with another blog today... or may wait until tomorrow to do 10 thoughts on Thursday (TOTs) (Some may use it for Tuesday... but I was too tired yesterday to do it... so, I might do mine tomorrow... we'll see!) ;)

I started this blog with a picture out the back of my "new" house from the other day when the snow was really coming down.

Here is another picture from the front at about the same time. (Was so much, it was almost a white out!!)... I'm just LOVING it!!!

As far as I'm concerned... LET IT SNOW... LET IT SNOW!!!

I'm stuck inside, unlike most of you... so, I'm sure, if I had to be out in it all the time, I'd be dreading it... well, maybe not too much, before Christmas...

I've always said, I love snow from day after Thanksgiving until day after New Year's Day. Even if I had to drive in it... Since I'm home 99% of the time anymore... It doesn't bother me if it stays around until March 19th!!

However, my birthday is March 20th & is also the 1st day of Spring... I definitely don't like seeing any of the white stuff after that!! By then I'm tired of it anyway ;)

So, that's about it for this blog... Hope this finds you doing well. Stay safe out there.

For those in the cool climate, stay warm... or if at the other end of this world where it's getting hot... *turns fan on to direct some of our cold your way!* ~ Not all of it... just enough to keep you from over-heating!!

As I always say... I'd rather be cold because I can pile on as much clothes or blankets as I need... but when hot... you can only take off so much! ;o)

Have a wonderful day / evening. ~*Toodles*~


Sunday, December 5, 2010

I didn't just flood everyone's "Inbox" with a bunch of my photos, did I?? ... I just imported all my Flickr photos over. I'm trying to adjust the settings... so forgive me if you get an influx of my old photos. ;) Thanks ahead of time for your patience :)

Yeah, I'm still around...


Hi ya all... How have ya been???

No, I haven't moved to the south... just a bit loopy... well, tired as more like it. It's 4:44a... I was out Christmas Shopping today & was wound up from that... then didn't take my Ambien 'til about an hour ago... Geesh, I should be asleep by now... but I'm still typing away. (Where was this LAST MONTH... ugh.. that'll make sense in a few!) ;)

Thankfully one of my best friends, Passion Wolf, did the driving. Even though I only live a couple miles from the stores where we went... I am still actually in recovery process of this little ol' brain surgery I had back in August.

Speaking of... I have not blogged about it on my other blog or here recently because I was getting tired of saying... well, I just don't know yet. & I really still don't know if it's a success.

However, I have found that if I'm active for a couple hours a day. Or even just a little bit... it helps some. But if I walk around a store too much I get the same old feelings back. So, that's why I'm glad she was driving.

I have ventured out a few times on my own... but mostly to places where I can stay in my truck & go through a drive through. Or in just for a quick pick up & back out.

Anyway... just wanted to stop by & say "Hello"! Been thinking of you all lately... miss ya... I do see some of you on Facebook... so that's helped a little... I just feel though some of you, I've left behind... ..... & after a passing of a friend from High School that I had "just missed" reconnecting with (since graduation) on Facebook... it makes me reconsider other lost friendships.

I really want to get back to blogging more often & less just "status" updates on Facebooks. (Besides, them status updates... they get buried so much by the games we all play over there.... AND they only will go back so far... unlike here... once you blogged... it's here 'til YOU remove it!) ;)

Maybe that will be my New Year... nope, I do NOT make resolutions... Never liked to! I make goals... & I can start now! ;)

Ok... one blog done... hee hee... ;)

If anyone really wants to hear more about what I've been up to... let me know... I'll be happy to write up some more blogs. Hey... it would help get me back in the swing of blogging... then maybe even the swing of doing my creative writing!!

(Yeah, I did sign up for the NaNoWriMo 50,000 word challenge again... but didn't get one word toward a novel done. IT just was not in me this year!!!)

So... let's have it... any questions??? ;)

P.S. For anyone kind of new to my blog... the blog pic is from Glitter-Graphics.com... you can click the picture & it will take you to their site.