If you want to comment to me privately... you know how to do so.
With that said, I have been sitting on the sidelines here skimming through other blogs & listening to my hubby's opinions & fact findings. I have kept my mouth shut; bit my tongue & sat on my hands... for most part that is. The one time I did voice my opinion... I almost lost a friend or two, because I was being pushy about it. (Which I did not intend to be!!)
Anyway... I have been meaning to post a blog about how I feel & what my opinions are. However, I had been leery about it, because I didn't want to start a political war here on my blog. Nor do I want to loose any friends over it.
So, I finally had the bright idea I'll do it & post it so no comments / replies can be left.
Another reason is because my opinions are based on what I've researched on my own or... I've trusted the source & I've just filed it in the memory bank.
So, I urge you, that if you have ANY questions about either candidate, to go to THE OFFICIAL PAGES of the candidates... Do not rely on media. Do not rely on emails that have been forwarded all over. Do not rely on Snopes. Rely on YOUR OWN intelligence!!
Read what the candidates say about THEMSELVES! Do not read what they say about their opponent... for they are not giving you all the facts... or they have a spin on it to make you agree with them.
McCain - Palin that link should take you right to the Issues page.
As this link should also for the other party... Obam - Biden.
My 1st thought when I visit each of their "issue" pages is one huge difference... something that really really bugs me... & that is Obama's issues page has a small blurb about his view... & then what they say is McCain's stand.
But NOT on McCain's page... It just states what HIS own ideas; views & opinions! And the more I think about it... the more I think about how people are saying that McCain said he'd run a clean campaign... & Obama is complaining he isn't.
Well... all those ads that do NOT have McCain speaking... I ignore... even if it says at the end "I'm ... & I approve this message." ... because, that can be spliced in so easily anymore. So, I still think McCain is running a clean campaign... for the most part!
It's no secret that I vote Republican. (I will admit, I have voted for 1 or 2 Democrats in my time... but always been local stuff.) It's also not hidden fact that I am not a "political" person... HOWEVER... this election, I'm going to now get a little vocal... I'm going to rant a little... only because I feel if I do not have my say, I will have this awful feeling, what if... "What if I had did a blog with my views? Could I have helped anyone decide?" (Ok, it's a big lofty thought... but it won't hurt... so why not!!) ;)
On with it you say... well, ok...
1st... My biggest issue I have is with the "extra" parties running for President. Sorry, it's more of a concern for the fact that people who vote for one of these "independent" candidates is just going to hamper the others. If you vote for someone like Ralph Nader... it's like voting for no one. So, why bother voting... because it's your right to voice your opinion. I have always wondered why they don't include a 3rd party on the ballots in the debates & the media stories.
So why not include them in on the debates, for those who don't like or are torn between the Democrat or Republican candidates. It's just never made sense to me. I know... I know... it's giving us a choice. But the only thing is all it does is muddy the water.
Let me say this... if out of 100 votes, 49 went Democrat & 49 went Republican... & 2 went with another party... what are they to do? How are they going to decide who will get the Electoral votes? (Which that is something I don't understand... & I don't care... for the fact, let those who need to understand it care about it.) & I know... I know... it's not going to be that close... but it's probably going to be close enough that they may have to do a recount. And the only reason it will be close is because of the other parties that are going to get a few votes here & there.
Basically... I feel if they're going to allow other parties on the ticket, then they need to include them in the debates AND in the media should talk about them as well. I mean... when's the last time you heard where Cynthia McKinney & Rosa A. Clemente stand on this issues?
Yes, they are actual candidates on the OFFICIAL ballot! Have you even heard them ladies? I hadn't... but that doesn't mean that they are not known somewhere. Why even bother putting them on the ballot... What is the point?
If McCain had gone with Mit Romney... this would have been my first presidential election that I wouldn't have voted in. For the fact, I would not have liked either choice. & I wouldn't have wanted to make my vote for someone else not really count.
I was hoping it would be Huckabee, for I thought that he would be a great "off set" to McCain. However, the more I've heard & read about Sarah Palin... I feel this is the best pick.
I like the views of Palin... it helps that she's extremely familiar with guns. In the way that she knows that it is people who kill people, not guns. You've never heard of a gun loading it's self & shooting someone. So, the lawsuits against gun manufacturers... I think it outrageous. (Ok, that's a totally different rant for another day.) My point is, that Palin has that well rounded; well educated way about her.
She reminds me of myself... in the fact that she "a little bit country & a little bit rock & roll". You can tell that she's not "stuffy" like Hillary Clinton.
McCain and Palin are THE CHANGE WE NEED!!!
The fact she's new to the scene does not mean she's NOT qualified! Who is? None of the candidates have held the office of President or Vice President!! I think this is a great stepping stone for Palin.
As for McCain, I think he's also a great choice because he knows what AMERICA is all about! He has fought for our country AND he's even been a P.O.W!! That right there should be enough for anyone to see that McCain is willing to FIGHT for our country!!
Ok, here's where the part that might upset some of you... & the other reason why I am not going to allow comments or replies. My thought is that you'll see it like this... that's her opinion... good for her for voicing it. I don't agree... but good for LH.
I am afraid, that if elected, Obama is going to split this country so much that we will have another civil war. I'm afraid that he will abuse his power as President and will end up starting WW3. (No, I don't have anything to back that up with... this is just the awful feeling I've had all year.... Just a feeling, that's all... I wish I could back this up... but I can't.)
There is more I could say... but again, I can't back any of it up. So, it would all just be hear say. And that's not what I want to do with this blog.
I just can not see John McCain, one who was declined early release as a P.O.W. abusing his rank. I mean, come on... that in its self takes courage, not to mention class & decency!! He had the ability to see his release was just a stunt by his captors, that he refused & insisted that those that had been their longer than him be released first. To me, that alone should make this a landslide election.
The other thing that you should remember while you're voting is... Do you really want a President who refused to put their hand over their heart during the Pledge of Allegiance & / or the National Anthem? Seriously, think about it.
Ok... ok... I've ranted & rambled on long enough... now... go do some research of your own... make sure the pages are official... if you see (or hear) something that doesn't seem like your candidate... then go to the official page & find out... then....
GO EXERCISE YOUR RIGHT TO VOTE!!!
We have the honor & the privileged of doing so... our military had fought for your right... so MAKE THEM PROUD and...
LET YOUR VOICE BE HEARD BY VOTING!!!!!