Thursday, December 24, 2009

Your Christmas card awaits below...

Since we're a bit "tight" this year... AND because I don't have your address... please consider this your Christmas card...


...Take care & be SAFE! Love, LadyHarley!!

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Just a quick update...

Hi all... I am mainly posting this for my dad, so that he doesn't worry... since it's been a while since I've blogged.

Hubby is STILL looking for a job. My mom is doing good... her surgery is Jan 22nd. (Day after my Social Security hearing.)

Me, well, I'm ok. Just dealing with the Chiari headaches. Awful I tell ya. However, good news... found out that the OSU Medical Center has FOUR locations with MRI machines that can do the specific one that I need. Now all I need is to get the order... oh & try to get financial aid too... or maybe a generous benefactor to pay for it.

Well, told ya... just a quick one this time.
Take care & *waves*
P.S. I wanted to share the above photo... *giggles* I know my dad & step-mom will love it!

Friday, December 4, 2009

Did you see? Multiply is moving...

Rating:★★★★★
Category:Other
Sort of... but we will experience down time tomorrow!

Read their blog HERE! Feel free to yoink this & pass it on to your friends... All need to know about this!!!

On the scale of Zero to Ten...

On a scale of 0 to 10... How freaked out would you be if.... you got if you woke up to a bug crawling on your neck & then found said bug & knew you were NOT dreaming... EWWW EWWW EWWW!!! Ten times over.... EWWW! (So, I say TEN x TEN!!!!)

Well, at least I got my living room cleaned & vacuumed!!! I mean CLEANED! (and even re-arranged!) Worn out! I'll pay for it tomorrow!!!

So, anyway... I completely freaked out ... on that scale... it was a TEN for me!! I was shaking & couldn't stop... I took a FULL Ativan & called my hubby to come down stairs to inspect my neck & head to be sure I didn't have a tic head or something still. He didn't see anything. (Not sure if it was a tic... but sure looked like one. EWWWWWWW)

Good grief, talking about it is making my skin crawl!! ARGH!... & It's 8.5 hours later.

Moving on... Told my hubby I didn't care how many times I passed out, this living room was getting cleaned... & sure enough... I got it CLEANED!!! Scooted furniture around (made Hubby move the heavy stuff, of course)...  vacuumed all I could & put furniture back in a different way. I like it... don't know if Hubby or dogs like it. They'll get used it it.

Only problem is the front door is blocked. HOWEVER we have one of them dutch doors!(Love it!!) No one comes in that door anyway!

Well, the doctor did say yesterday for me to push myself... I think I did that today! & THEN SOME!!! I'll be paying for it for a few days... I just know it! Or at least I'll sleep very good tonight! :o)

Again, on a scale of Zero to TEN... how freaked would you have been?



P.S. Sorry to those who read this already on Facebook ;)

Due to lack of interest... Secret Angels has been postponed. More details to follow from the group site tomorrow.

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Secret Angel / Santa time again...

What is a Secret Angel / Santa?
It's where you give (virtual) gifts to someone else in the group... via me, the moderator. & Then someone will be providing me gifts to give to you as well! It's all done in SECRET! (Trust me it's much easier than you think!)

I've already had a few ask if we're going to do something this year. I was going to say no... but then this morning some ideas fluttered through my head & so, I wrote them down.. & I'll be posting a sign up blog on the group site, shortly! :)

So, if you're interested in participating this year & you're not already a member... hurry up & get & click this link ~~~> The Secret Angels & click "Join Group"!!! ;o)

Then watch for blogs from me in that group! :)

There are SIMPLE RULES / TIPS in the welcome box via the link above.

In the blog I will post shortly I'll give a bit of a description of what we'll be doing. It's going to be very much like the past couple years. And we'll be doing the 12 days of Christmas & a Reveal Blog Party.

So, hurry on over & join the group (if you're not already!)... because the deadline to sign up will be 11:59pm Thursday 12-10-09.

This blog is NOT the sign up... please wait until I post the blog about how to sign up... IN THE GROUP!! It's going to be a tad different!!! You can reply to this blog with questions or anything... but if you sign up here, it will NOT be counted!! (You'll see why when the sign up blog is posted over on the Secret Angels site!!!) :)

P.S. Feel free to pass the link to the group on to your friends. You can even link to this blog, if you wish! The more the merrier!! :o)

Friday, November 27, 2009

ARGH I can't get logged into Facebook!! ARGH!! Can't even cross post from here!! ARGH!!!

I gone & did it! I cut my hair... SHORT!!!

This is one of them blogs where I'm posting it really for my dad... but I know others want to see too!

The day before Thanksgiving I finally got the nerve up to go get my haircut really short... & So, Hubby drove me (because we've agreed I shouldn't drive until... well, probably not until after I have the surgery or get medicine to stop the feeling of faint all the time.)

Anyway...
I did this because IF I am going to be having the decompression surgery for my Chiari Malformation they will shave a bit of the hair in the center of the back of my head... and so, I didn't want to have to deal with having to cut my hair (to make it look ok) after that & be devastated by having short hair... So, I put it in my own hands to have short hair.

Honestly... it's actually a nice change of pace. I've NEVER had my hair this short!!! I like it... for now! ;)

Here's the "before"...


& The after.......


In case you're wondering that was about 7 inches... Which means that since September I've cut off approximately a total of 17 inches of my hair! YIKES!!!

Here's one more picture...
It's from when I got home & took out the little bit of the "poofy" that the stylist put in. And it can show you that the back is really really SHORT... I mean... IT'S SHORT!!! But I'm liking it.

Another reason I cut it so short was because I needed it off the back of my neck. And it will be easier for me to take care of. For someone who can't stand long in the shower, washing & rinsing long hair does not cut it. (No pun intended... really!) ;)

Now I just need to wait to get the call from my dad to see what he thinks! *giggles*

Saturday, November 21, 2009

is hoping the feeling of a cold looming, is just because it's night time. To be safe... I'm going to bed now. ~ Night! ~

For review by TLW Admins

Ok ladies... here's the updated rules I have for the new season... for when we get to that point! :) I'm hoping shortly after Thanksgiving! :)
****************************
BASIC RULES
1. No profanity!!! (Have not had a problem... just making sure! LOL)

2. No repeats! (If any doubt, use Ctrl + F  (link to tutorial coming soon) to search the whole page.)

3. PLAY NICE! (Do NOT argue in the game.) If you have a problem with another, player or word played, please send Lady Harley a PM!

4. BE CLEAN!!! We have young players, so, please do not say, or link to, anything explicit... or questionable!

5. English ONLY. We do take in to account the different forms, such as British / Queens English. (More info in tips) (If any doubt, I (or a co-admin) will check it out... oooh, sorry for the rhyme!)

6. Please wait for at least one person to change the word before you go again.

7. NO graphics, please... don't want auto reply to be slow! (The admins have a few to use. THAT'S all!... until TLW is played!)

8. Do NOT delete your word / comment... especially if it's been determined if it's already been used or is not legal. (I, or the admins, need to be able to hop on & see all replies in case there is a problem.)

9. TLW official dictionary is: OneLook.com (see below for more info.)

10. Most of all... HAVE FUN!!!

From time to time we'll have Special Rounds. If & when we do, see those rounds for their specific rules. The BASIC RULES above will ALWAYS apply, unless otherwise noted in the round!!

Normal Round rules...
1. Change only ONE letter.
2. Do NOT add any letters.
3. Do NOT take away any letters.
4. Do NOT rearrange the letters to make a new word.
5. Capitalize the ONE letter you are changing.
6. When you play your word, be sure to put the word you are playing off of before yours & remember rule #5. (ie: last... lIst) (Also, be sure to put dots, or something in between, like the example!)
7. OneLook.com is the OFFICIAL dictionary of TLW, however, the admins MAY use other sources to determine if a word is acceptable.
8. Pronouns / proper names / brand names will NOT be allowed. (Unless other wise noted in the blog above the replies!) (If the 1st letter in the word needs to be capitalized, it is not "legal" in this game!)
9. Certain slang will be accepted, see tips, below, for more info!
10. We will NOT accept Wikepedia words, it must be in other dictionaries!

Tips:
T. To play a word, just post a reply... it can be just your answer... no need to say anything else, if you don't want to! :)

H. If two (or more) players change the word at the same time... it will be the admins' call as to who was 1st. (At this point, everyone in the game should REFRESH to see who was 1st... Remember not all internet connections runs the same!)

E. Feel free to put your "last word" in a funny saying or something... If so, then put that "word" in ALL CAPS (or bold, italic, or bold italic if you know how to use basic HTML) so that we all can see which word you're using as your "last word"... and it HAS to make sense!!

L. When referring to a definition on OneLook.com, do NOT post the link... just post the name of the dictionary it's in. (ie: Cambridge; Dictionary.com; Merriam-Webster's; etc.)

A. OneLook.com looks up a word in just about every dictionary on net today... Including sports; medicine & slang dictionaries. HOWEVER, be careful with it because it does give brand names.

S.  Some slang will be acceptable. However, it has to be widely known in the WORLD. (ie: DARNED IF I CAN'T THINK OF ANY EXAMPLES AT THE MOMENT!! Can you??) ;o)

T. You're more than welcome to use Google; Dictionary.com; Define.com or any other resources to try to be the one with "The Last Word"!! HOWEVER... The ONE and ONLY link that will be accepted to verify words is OneLook.com. (The admins will have a list of which sources within OneLook.com to determine if an obscure word will be accepted or not.) (See Tip #5 for explanation!) (P.S. If you can use the word in a sentence, properly, and if asked... we more than likely will accept it. So, you best be prepared to back up your word!!!)

W. Words with more than one spelling for different countries will be accepted... HOWEVER, you must back it up via the "unified dictionary link" as stated above, if asked! (ie: grEy & grAy are both valid words & allowed.)

O. Admins are permitted to win. (However, I will make sure I am not the winner... because I have the fun of getting it started & etc.)

R. If you have ANY comment or suggestion, please do NOT hesitate to send me a PM (private message)... you never know, you might think of something I never did!!

D. AGAIN, remember this is JUST A GAME... So, HAVE FUN, ya hear?!?!!?

Winners:
We will no longer have personalized winning badges. However, we will use the graphics at: (WILL INSERT A LINK HERE!!!) Feel free to use the one we post, OR... choose one of your own to brag about your win on your own blog.

(1st season are rounds 1.0 through 72.2) New season starts ??????

The "Hall of Fame" page is still available, however, it will NOT be updated beyond what it there now!!! If you won a round after the ones that are posted & would like a personalized badge, please send Lady Harley or KittyChile a PM.

Once the new season begins, we will start a separate NOTE on the site to post the winners, along with copy-able links to the game for you to use in your blog.

****************************

As you can tell... I've made it easy a basic outline format... that way if we ever need in the game to reference a particular rule we can say, Please see.....
Get it? .... Good! :)

Now... is there anything any of you disagree with... or think needs tweaked?? Now is the time to tell me!! I'm thinking I'll give you all until 11-25 to review & discuss it & state any opinions / corrections / etc...

Sound good??

Ok... let me have it... what don't you like?? Or what can you improve with it???

NaNoWriMo update... Nov 21st

Uh... if you hadn't been able to figure it out, my writing has gone by the wayside the past few weeks. It's not that I'm in a writer's block... it's just I don't have the energy? to write. (Energy is NOT the correct word.)

It has nothing to do with the pressure of a deadline either... I have plenty of ideas for it... it's just I'm not at a place where I can write & write & write.

So, I've retreated to Facebook... & other things to get my mind off of it. But alas that proved to be a little detrimental... in the fact, I had forgot about NaNoWriMo for some time. & Now I know there's no way I'd make the deadline without pushing myself way beyond the limit... & again, I just don't have the stamina / energy to do it.

I'm not giving up on the book... I'm actually looking forward to finishing it. I'm just not going to push it to be 50,000 words. Because there are so many of you involved in it... I will get it finished! I may just post it as chapters here. or something. We'll see.

Ok, that's all for now. I have lots of other things on my mind that I need to attend to. Take care & HUGS to you all!

Thanks for cheering me on... sorry to let you down. NEXT YEAR, I'll do it!!! (Who knows I may still be able to make a little more effort to it this year... but I'm not going to push it!)

~~TOODLES~~

Alright... how do you edit your 'To:' (when sending a PM) list now????

Calling all Chiarians... Have you tried using earplugs to diffuse noise? If so, how did it work? I'm wondering if I should where something for Thanksgiving so I won't be ready to go in 5 minutes of arriving at our 1st dinner location.

Friday, November 13, 2009

Good news on the SS Disability .... sort of... (Chiari related)

Spoke with the attorney today & he said we FINALLY have a hearing date scheduled for 1-21-2010.

1st... I can't believe it's going to be 2010 in just about 7 weeks... WHAT HAPPENED to 2009??

2nd.. The attorney said they're going to have a neurologist at the hearing. Which will all be done via video conferencing.

He also said that if all goes well & I'm approved, it will be 30 to 60 days before I get the 1st check... which should be the retroactive money. (Over 3 years worth!!!)

So, once we have that accomplished, I'll be scheduling the surgery soon as I can.... However, BEFORE I can even think about that... I have to get that MRI Cine Flow study done... That won't happen until Hubby's new insurance kicks in late this month....

UNLESS a friend, & advocate for Chiarians & a Chiarian herself, finds out if a certain radiologist will do the MRI for FREE... yes... I said  FREE!!!! Only thing is... since I haven't heard from her... I'm thinking that the radiologist can't get privileges down in Columbus. ... I'm about to tell her to tell the guy that if he can do it... I'll get to New York!

Just hope if I do that... they don't mind I'm not going to the doctors in New York.

Who knows, maybe the doctor will tell me I don't need surgery after all & just will need to take some medicine to relieve the pressure. We'll see.

Anyway... that's the update on that.
*************************

A quick NaNoWriMo update (in case you didn't see my quick note)... It's on hold for me right now. I have completely lost my muse... & the mood of creative writing. I think it's from the lack of sleep I've gotten this week... SOOOOO hopefully things will improve over the weekend.

Stay tuned for more...
*************************

*HUGS* & ~~Toodles~~

NaNoWriMo update... quick & short... it's on hold for me. Not in the mood. :(

Sunday, November 8, 2009

Literary abandonment is what it's called... (NaNoWriMo update)

It's a good thing that this book does not need to make sense... because last night after nearly 30 hours of not writing anything toward it I picked up my pen and paper (because my computer was off... as it should be at 3:30 AM!!) and just started to write about each of the characters.

What prompted that was a little 'pep talk' letter that was sent out to the NaNoWriMo participants last evening.

It said something about when you've come to a road block start describing the characters. Their clothes, their mannerisms... anything... just do it in great wordy detail! JUST WRITE!!!

So, that's what I was doing. I believe I only wrote for about 1/2 hour maybe longer. Didn't look at the time when I finally put down my paper & pen... I barely remember laying down.

However, it felt good to have written when I didn't write AT ALL on Friday.

I just finished counting all them words... & they're good enough to add to the book. ... The count was 724. (I'm now up to a total of 10,886 words with 39,114 to go!) I guess I tend to write faster with a pen than to type. LOL.

If I could, probably would write with my pen more often. Only thing is... I would need to transfer it all to the computer anyway. So, I stick with the typing. LOL!!!

Ok... I have to get back at it before the muse leaves me again. I'm playing catch up mode again. By the end of tonight I should be over 13 grand... again, key word being.... SHOULD!

However... I'm more looking at the goal at the end of tomorrow... FIFTEEN THOUSAND words... So, hopefully be end of tomorrow I'll be back on track. (Not going to push myself... just going to write and write and write.... )

~Toodles~

For Richer or Poorer ... In Sickness and in health.... I DO!

When we said those words just a short 13 years ago TODAY, I'm sure, neither my husband nor I would have imagined that we would have to deal with all that we are dealing with right now.

When you say them, you know you're going to have some ups and downs. However, you hope, pray, & dream you never have to deal with the inferior of those vows.

It's comforting to know since we are "in sickness", I have a husband who has stuck with me during the worst we have seen so far.

Yes, it's been a struggle for us both these past 13 years. However, we ARE still together.

What pains me at this moment is that I do not have the ability to be able to celebrate our day, with him the way we should. I can't even get out to get him a proper gift or card... So, this is why I write this blog.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
Dear Hubby,
I love you so much that there are times that words can't describe it. You mean the world to me and if I had these past 13 years to do over again, the only thing I would change would be the stuff that causes either of us heartache & headaches. (No pun intended.)

You have been such a comfort, especially these past couple months.

I am so honored to be your wife and so grateful you have stuck beside me through all of our struggles.

I know that we still have a long road ahead of us in the "sickness" part, however, I would not want any other to be at my side, than you.
Thank you... I love you & HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

(P.S. I'm not leaving this open for replies... it's just one of them types.) ;o)

Friday, November 6, 2009

This may be the silliest thing I've ever written (NaNoWriMo update)

I thought Stella the Stiletto was the goofiest thing I would ever write. Well, this novel I'm writing for the NaNoWriMo challenge has gone way beyond silliness!! In my mind, I think so! ;o)

At least it really doesn't matter if the book is really worthy for the masses to read. It's the exercise of writing is what counts.

In doing so, I have found I can write nearly 1500 words in just over an hour, if I really just sat down and just let mind (and fingers) have at it. I can only imagine at this point what I really could punch out if I spent a good eight hours working on just writing for my book. Meaning no blogs... no Facebook updates... no tweets on Twitter... just creative writing.

Anyway, I'm taking a little break from the book to let you know that (in case you didn't see in my quick notes) I've crossed that TEN GRAND mark! WOO HOO!!! And there's still a few hour left in the day! :o)

Also, to inform you there is now a widget on my front page with my word count. It's the 1st little box in the left column. (Or you can just refer back to this blog and the picture at the top.)

Well, that's all for this update. Talk to ya all soon! ~Toodles~

Well on my way of breaking the 10k mark today. So... back at it! ;o)

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

At 4876, I'm a little shy of the 5000 word goal for day 3 of NaNoWriMo. At least I was able to get some writing in! ~NIGHT!~

having a BAD Chiari day. think I'll take 1/2 an Ativan & lay down, to avoid going to ER again! ~ NaNoWriMo maybe on hold today :(

Multiply experiment...

Well, I actually saw this 1st on Facebook (Thanks again Amy!)  but I got to thinking this would be neat to see here too... And I wonder if anyone has done it yet?

Please feel free to yoink if you wish... Just know that I am making this only available to my contacts... however you can make yours available to as little or as many people as you want.

On with the "experiment"... (Oh... P.S. If you already answered mine via Facebook, no need to do it here too... unless you want to!) ;o)
************************

If you are reading this, whether we do or don't speak often, post a comment of the first memory you have of you and me that pops in your head. When you've finished, post this paragraph on your own status. You'll be surprised what people remember about you.


Sunday, November 1, 2009

Good thing it's still Day 1 of NaNoWriMo & I wrote over 2600 words from 12a to 3a... head hurts too much to write, atm! ARGH!

Nascar has some SERIOUS thinking to do about restrictor plates!!! 2 BIG wrecks at the end! UGH!

Off to a good start - NaNoWriMo update

After I gathered my Nestle Toll House chocolate chips and a glass a milk I started the challenge.

I stopped only once in the past 3 hours, and it has paid off. I have already typed over 2600 words. To meet the goal of 50,000 words in 30 days you need to average about 1667 words a day. My personal goal is 1800 to 2000.

Which I have succeeded for Day 1! And to think... there's still 21 more hours left in the day! *grins!*

In the next day or so, I hope to be able to have a little widget on my front page to show you my tally, so I don't have to bug you all with a blog each time. (And so I don't use up my words! Like as if that would happen! LOL!)

Anyway... Just wanted to let you all know how it's going. Stay tuned for more updates!

~Toodles!~ :)

Saturday, October 31, 2009

Let the 30 days of NON-STOP writing begin! (At least for me it's time!) :o)

Alright Eastern Time zone NaNoWriMo's blast off in 5... 4... 3... 2... 1!! START WRITING!! :)

Less than FIVE hours to the start of NaNoWriMo 2009!!! :o)

Cast of characters for NaNoWriMo 2009 (updated)

Well my characters are almost all accounted for... now I just need to start coming up with some destinations for when all have climbed aboard.

btw... here are those who have "signed up"... so far... There are just a few whom I'm waiting for confirmation to use their screen name. So they're not on the list just yet.

Maegan; Dio; KittyChile; Spooked Dreamscape (a dragon, in case you didn't know!); Caffienated Jo (may just call her Caffi Jo!); Cali the Quill & Ink; Passion Wolf; Stilly Bee; Nomie Panda & her imaginary friend Jessifer; MystyDragons & her Pixies; & the Warrior Princess (you all know her as HeartsofParis)... & Now we have Gina Bean (my sister!) :)

I have some ideas for the destinations... country wise that is (ie: Africa) but will need some town / village / city names. Any ideas??

Please feel free to add your ideas below... if I use it, I'll be sure to give you (your screen name that is.) in my "credits".

Thanks to all who have stepped forward & agreed to lend their screen name in this project of mine! It's been a huge help & relief to know I should not have a problem meeting the 50,000 (or more) words in 30 days challenge!! :o)
*******************
Guess I should have read my other messages before I started to type this... seems that KittyChile has given me a list of town names. HOWEVER... don't let the stop YOU from giving some suggestions.

Just remember can't be any thing that would be in someone else's novel. (Ie: Hogwarts)

If you think of something... let me know what country it maybe in.

Thanks again all!!! :)

************
Due to copyright... I had to change the name of our dear friend Dory Panda. She will be known as Nomie Panda in the story. (Mutually agreed upon between the two of us.)

Friday, October 30, 2009

I'm down for the count... Meaning... G'd NIGHT! :)

YOUR name on my list.... (updated 10-31.. TWICE!) ;)

Re-posting this from a quick note... in hopes to get ya all to look at it... (sorry for the duplication.)

In case you've missed my other blogs / notes... I finally have an idea for my novel for the NaNoWriMo... but I need some character names... & below is the list I'm looking at.

Please keep in mind I will NOT be using any of your real life details (except maybe the country you live in as a destination stop)... This will be strictly a work of fiction. If you want more information, please send me a PM. Thanks :)

(You think 12 characters is too many???) I may not need all of these... but these are the ones I think I can really get a good story lines with!! :o)

Maegan - ON BOARD ... might be the Train Engineer??

Dio & Flagon - ON BOARD - (already ok'd via the THIS BLOG.) <~~~ Go there in case you want more info.

KittyChile - ON BOARD... & will be defending the Pixies!! ;o)

Spooked Dreamscape (can't have Kitty without her Spooked! *grins*) ??????

Caffienated Jo - ON BOARD!!!

Cali the Quill & Ink - ON BOARD!!! (She knows who she is! & this one is OK'd!!)

Passion Wolf - just received a text confirmation... she's ON BOARD!! :o)

Stilly Bee - ON BOARD! - buzz buzzz

Buggal the Lady Bug - I have a great idea for Buggal... hope she will join us!!! ;o)

Dory Panda - ON BOARD - & will bring along some friends too, maybe! :)

Emma Monkey ?????

MystyDragons & her Pixies - ON BOARD - & there will be NO eating of the pixies!!! :o)

Warrior Princess (you all know her as HeartsofParis) - ON BOARD! Thank you! :)

Actually make that at baker's dozen of characters... because I'll need my name, Lady Harley, in it too, as the conductor of the train!!! ;o)

Now... it's hurry up & wait until 12:01a Nov 1st!!! LOL

(btw... You can either reply below OR send me a PM to ok or veto your user id.)

Oh wow... this is coming together quite nicely!!! *BIG grins!*

NaNoWriMo update... (just a quick note) ;)

Ok, in just less than 2 hours I have had the inspiration hit me, like a ton of bricks, for my novel this year...

I, now, think I'll have NO PROBLEM whatsoever meeting this challenge!

The ideas are just pouring out of my little brain... (I mean the brain that's too big for my head! LOL... yes that's a reference to my Chiari Malformation.) ;o)

Anyway... stay tuned... more updates to follow...

Let the COUNTDOWN begin!!!

I just LOVE IT when inspirations hits!!! *grins*

Now that I have the characters in mind... just need some destinations!

May I use your user name for my book?? (See below) Is 12 characters too many??? (UPDATED!!!)

So much for that idea!

Yes, I'm talking about NaNoWriMo again...

I thought I had a great idea of what to do... but then I wanted to be sure that I could do a piece of Non-Fiction / a sort of auto-biography...

Then I read this:
Write a novel. We define a novel as a lengthy work of fiction. If you consider the book you're writing a novel, we consider it a novel too!

Well, that idea is thrown out the window & back to square 1...

So, again I ask... Anyone have any ideas for me???

Wait... STOP THE TRAIN!!! Something just hit my train of thought here...

But I guess I'll need all of you to give your ok on this... Well, a few of you at least...

If I were to write something using your user id... would you mind? (Of course I'd give you credit & a thank you in the book.)

It would be one of them type of stories where I would use the names and / or pictures to base the character upon. Meaning, I would NOT use any of your real life details!!! ;o)

For example: KittyChile would be a kitten... then there's Passion Wolf, she'd be... a wolf. (Big stretch there.) and etc... LOL.

Ok... with that said... I best get to thinking of a plot for these characters.

In the meantime... keep an eye on this blog for updates of how it's going.

~~ TOODLES ~~

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

FOUR days until NaNoWriMo starts

Writers on your mark... only FOUR days away from the start of the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)!

In case you don't know, that's the challenge to write a 50,000+ word novel in 30 days. That averages out to over 1600 words per day; over 138 words per hour & 2.3 words per minute. Now that's doesn't sound so hard, does it???

It does if you don't have a plot idea in your head at this moment... I have NOT a single one!!!

But my main concern is I may have another episode of my backwards typing... Yeah, I know... the spelling / context of the words don't count, it's the quantity they're after.

Only thing is I hope that when I have my sister read & proof this one that it's not sooooo far off that she may not get the story. LOL.

Anyway... Get stocked up now on all the snacks & prepare to spend a few late nights typing up a storm.

Just remember, if you're going to do this challenge to take many breaks so as not to get stiff! (Mainly saying this for myself.) ;o)

On you marks... Get set.... WAIT... it's not November 1st yet!!! *giggles*

(Yes that's my "badge" from last year. And to think, I started 11 days late last year!!)
(Title corrected... I forgot there are 31 days in Oct! LOL!)

Sunday, October 18, 2009

YES I am a Chiarian

What is that you ask? Well, it's someone who has the birth defected called Chiari (pronounced: KEY-are-EE) Malformation. (Also referred to as Arnold Chiari Malformation.) See this link for more information.

It is something serious if you have the symptoms like I do. However there are some who live symptom free all their life & never know they have it unless they had an MRI of the brain.

I'm not going to go much into this, because I've talked about it many times... I just wanted to post a little about what happened the other day that sent me to the ER. (Mainly typing this for record... & for those who were worried. Not trying to gain sympathy or anything like that... This is my blog & I consider it my journal. I say this because of a problem a friend went through about a year ago when she blogged about some of her health issues. I can't deal with the drama of anything like that... So, please don't get on me about posting this blog. Again, it's my blog / journal.) Now with that said (& I hope I won't have to say it again. LOL)... Here's what's going on...

It was 3a Friday & I started have a more intense odd type of headache. My hand was shaking & then by the time I went to the bathroom & came back to the couch I started to convulse... I was aware enough to holler up at my hubby & he came down here... after several calls to my mom & sister, he then realized it was not something I've had done before... & especially when I started talking nonsense... some words were backwards... (ie: saying ON ON ON to my dog who was in my face when I was trying to say NO NO NO go away.)

Then I would sort of pass out... probably from the exhaustion of the shaking... but would come to & would be a little more coherent enough to tell my hubby I had NOT taken anything different that I have been. This happened a few times... finally the Rescue squad came & after accessing the situation, they tried to get me to walk out to the ambulance... but my legs gave out... So they had to carry me to the gurney which was in our computer room. On the 2 minute ride to the hospital I passed out a couple times & the EMT in the back with me did that knuckle thing to my chest... TWICE. Man that hurt... but it brought me back.

The thing is, before he did it he would lift my arm up & let it drop to see if I was responsive. How do I know it? Because... my brain was actually conscious... (& I'm just now remembering this by the way.) But I could not respond by resisting. To me that was just plain odd. & Yes, I'll be bringing it up to my hubby & to the doctors.

So, we get to the hospital... & I really think they thought I was on drugs or something because they sure were not acting as if there was a problem. As my hubby pointed out to me... once they got the blood test results back, I'm sure they're feeling awful for thinking that way. At least I know I would be.

Ok... so I'm there & my hubby is on his way... so they're asking me questions like are you having a seizure? Uh... what? Isn't that what you're supposed to determine. I guess they were trying to see if I could answer.

Well finally my hubby arrives & tells them about what Chiari Malformation is (from what he knows). They don't seem to care... but still they gave me a shot of Adavan (or Atavan?) & sent me for a CAT scan.

At this point I'm not shaking nearly as bad... but they got my head strapped down & a couple moments later was wheeling me back to my ER room. (Oh, they tried to get me to scoot onto the scan table & my legs just wouldn't move. UGH!)

Anyway, the CAT scan & blood tests came back normal, so they say & they sent me home. (Thankfully we were not there very long. It must have been a slow day for them.) I still think they're thinking I was nuts or something.

I finally fell asleep about 10 to 20 minutes upon getting home. Hubby tried to go to work while I was sleeping, but they "kicked him out" LOL... I guess basically saying go home to be with your wife. However, he brought home the laptop & did some work & they said to call in his time & they will pay him for it. To me that's great!

I woke up when he got home after Noon because the dogs were barking. Then didn't go back to sleep 'til about Midnight.

Well things don't end there... & maybe a few of you noticed it when I posted the quick note about my trip to the ER... Yesterday when I woke up after only about 4 hours sleep, I typed up some emails to family & friends... & the quick note... & it was brought to my attention a few of my words were backwards. (ie: tib instead of BIT or 'ko' instead of 'ok'.)

It's just another symptom in the long line of other ones with this condition. What do you expect when something is blocking the fluid / blood that the brain & the rest of your body needs???... Of course there's going to be problems.

What's so frustrating is that, as you all know, I'm a writer (at least I'm trying to be!) & with my yearly challenge coming up next month (50,000 words in a month)... well... all I can say is ... ARGGGHHH!!! well, that & ... I sure hope that this particular symptom will not rear it's ugly head anymore!!

At this point I am catching some (hopefully all) of my mistakes... but if it's bad enough I may not be able to write this year. & For me... that is completely depressing. Because that's the only thing I can really do right now... that & play games on Facebook. (giggles). (I've even stopped playing Second Life for the most part because it was stressing me out too much. Long story for another day.)

So, anyway... for now, I'm doing ok... beside still battling one major headache... I have to keep my stress as low as possible & stay relaxed. (Another reason I'm thinking about skipping the NaNoWriMo challenge this year. We'll see.)

As long as my stress is low & I don't get over heated (physically) it should keep the pressure off my brain to where I can function. Other wise, I may end up in the ER again... & honestly... we do NOT have the money for that... (nor the insurance!)

Alright, alright... I've gone on long enough about this. Again, if you want to know more about this rare birth defect, please check out The Chiari Center Foundation's (TCCF) website. (It's new but still they have quite a bit of information up already!)

OH... wait... I posted a note awhile back about having new found hope... I almost forgot to tell you... I spoke to a lawyer & he said he thinks we can win my case for Social Security Disability... Then I talked to the gal who founded TCCF & she has put me in touch with a specialist in PA... & she gave me a lot of hope in the fact that she had the surgery & is now completely SYMPTOM FREE!!! So... again, I have HOPE that my life can become active again... not a guarantee... but it's good news!!

Maybe Social Security will look at that aspect & see that I may not be on it long & finally approve me. If they do... the back money I would get WILL be going to getting the surgery! (Oh, I can't believe that I'm actually saying I want a surgery... well, not really... but if it will help get rid of these headaches & give me back my life... Yeah, I'll do it!!!)

Alrighty... I believe I've gone on long enough. Take care all & don't worry, I'll keep you all informed.

btw... if you're on Facebook & want to keep in touch... send me a PM & I'll consider adding you to my real name page. If you're one whom I'm not quite familiar with, I can add you to my other page that I set up with my web name. There are a few of you that I won't mind having you connected on my main page... but please don't take offense if I give you the other... I think you'll know. Also, I've not sent out invites to those who I will accept, because I didn't want to bug you. Hope that make sense.

Hope all this make sense... & Please let me know if it doesn't (or anything else in the future)... I do need to be made aware of when I'm NOT making sense. I need to keep record of this stuff.

Okie dokie... that's all for now... *tosses some chocolate out to the masses & gives you all a big HUG!!* Take care! ~ Toodles! ~

(P.S. The blog picture is the logo & ribbon from TCCF. The "awareness ribbon" can be purchased on the site. See link above!)

Monday, September 28, 2009

Nice fall day. (Windy & Chilly) .... LOVING IT!

Please don't shoot the messenger...

This was sent to me by my dad in an email & yes, I just had to share it.
Please read it all the way through before you read & / or make any comments. *giggles*

*********************************

A man is driving down the road and breaks down near a monastery. He goes to the monastery, knocks on the door, and says, My car broke down. Do you think I could stay the night?

The monks graciously accept him, feed him dinner, and even fix his car. As the 
man tries to fall asleep, he hears a strange sound; a sound like no other that he has ever heard. The next morning, he asks the monks what the sound was, but they say, We can't tell you because you're not a monk.

The man is disappointed but thanks them anyway and goes about his merry way. Some years later, the same man breaks down in front of the same
monastery.  
 
The monks again accept him, feed him, and even fix his car..

 
That night, he hears the same strange mesmerizing sound that he had heard years earlier.

 The next morning, he asks what the sound was, but the monks reply,
We can't tell you because you're not a monk.
 
The man says, all right, all right. I'm dying to know.
If the only way I can find out what that sound was is to become a monk, how do I become a monk?

The monks reply, you must travel the earth and tell us how many blades of grass there are and the exact number of sand pebbles. When you find these numbers, you will become a monk.
 
The man sets about his task. Some forty-five years later, he returns and knocks on the door of the monastery. He says, I have travelled the earth and devoted my life to the task demanded and have found what you had asked for. There are 371,145,236,284,232 blades of grass and 231,281,219,999,129,382 sand pebbles on the earth.

The monks reply, congratulations, you are correct, and you are now considered a monk .

We shall now show you the way to
 the sound.

The monks lead the man to a wooden door, where the head monk says, the sound is behind that door.
 
The man reaches for the knob, but the door is locked. He asks, May I have the key ?
 
The monks give him the key, and he opens the door.

Behind the wooden door is another door made of stone... The man requests the key to the stone door.

The monks give him the key, and he opens it, only to find a door made of ruby. He demands another key from the monks, who provide it. Behind that door is another door, this one made of sapphire. And so it went on until the man had gone through doors of emerald,...
 
...silver, topaz, and amethyst.

 
Finally, the monks say, This is the key to the last door ...

 
The man is relieved to be at the end. He unlocks the door, turns the knob, and behind that door he is astonished to find the source of that strange sound. It is truly an amazing and unbelievable sight...
...................
.................
...........
............
.....................
..................
..................
...................
................
..........
........
.......
.....
 
...
.. But I can't tell you what it is because you're not a monk.

DON'T SWEAR AT ME;
 
I'M STILL HUNTING FOR THE IDIOT WHO STARTED THIS !
But I bet you send it on (or post in your own blog?)

**ROTFL**

Friday, September 25, 2009

Fall TV reviews (part 1)

Fall TV is in full swing...
Hubby & I just finished watching the new ABC series "FlashForward" (Thursday) & tell ya what... it's going to be another one just like LOST... one you're going to be hooked on! I know I am already!

Tuesday was the return the great show NCIS & the premiere of the spin off NCIS: Los Angeles (on CBS)... Just like their predecessor, JAG... it's well worth 2 hours of viewing!

My DVR will be working overtime on Tuesday's because there are 2 other new shows that I watched last night... "The Good Wife" (CBS) with Julianne Margulies & "the forgotten" (ABC).

"The Good Wife" is actually another lawyer / investigation type of show... & is a lot better than I thought it was going to be. (Love it when things turn out like that.)

I was concerned "the forgotten" (yes, no capitalization is how it's to be) would be another series that Christian Slater's name may have over emphasized the goodness of it... however, yet again I was surprised! ;o)

(btw... I'm not really giving a synopsis on these shows, because I figure you have seen the previews or can look it up. Just giving my opinion about them. ... Also, I'm a bit tired, so my wording may not be "up to par".)

Moving on to Wednesday nights... Well, a new show with Kelsey Grammar ("Hank" on ABC) does not start until this coming week... Looks good. Truly hope that it's better than the one that CBS had him in last year. (Where he was a news anchor. It was ok... but the writing really needed some help.)

We still have to watch "Gary Unmarried" (Starring Jay Mohr)... so, can't give you a review... However, the show seemed to get better as it neared the end of it's 1st season... and from the previews, looks like Mohr may have a hit.

Now we're to Thursday nights... another night the DVR will have a work out. Along with the previous mentioned, "FlashForward" was also the return of "Grey's Anatomy"... knowing that one of my favorite hospital series ("ER") was ending... I started to get hooked into "Grey's" & as a commercial said about the season finale being unforgettable... well, so was the season premiere! Not only is it funny where it needs to be... but it's also drama packed, with tear-jerking scenes.

I'm actually looking forward to it's spin-off, "Private Practice", season premiere, next Thursday... they left us with a great cliff hanger. Not sure though I'll keep up with that show... We'll see if they turn things around this year.

My poor DVR... Friday's are going to be another busy night... CBS saved the show "Medium" from NBC's axe & put it in the line up between their big hits: "Ghost Whisperer" (with Jennifer Love Hewitt) & "NUMB3RS"...

Saturday's & Sunday's are reserved mainly for football & NASCAR. *giggles* (Nope, I don't watch "Desparate Housewives".) So, I'm sure those days will be reserved to watch some of the shows we have on the DVR. (Oh... "The Bill Engvall Show" on TBS is usually on Saturday's now... but the next 2 weeks doesn't seem to be any new shows. They had their season start over a month ago. Must be because it's cable. Just a guess.) ;o)

I say this is part 1... because of all the stuff we still have to watch... Though, I can pretty much say this... it's all good tv viewing! ;o)

Now the question to you is, what are some of your favorites that have returned & what new shows are you watching???

(Of course there are shows like "Dancing with the Stars" that I didn't mention... but that's because... well, just because. LOL)

Christmas in THREE months!!! *grins*

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Halllooooo Fall TOTs

Howdy folks! How ya doin'? I know, I know... long time no hear from me...

So... how about a Welcome To Fall edition of TOTs.

In case you're new to my blog, TOTs = "Thoughts On Thursday". Similar to the Tuesday Ten (or Tengents as my KittyChile sister will say).

They're random thoughts just like anything else, actually... Just not limiting to 10.

Maybe more than 10... maybe less... depends on my mood & what is rambling around up there in my noggin! LOL.


On with the real TOTs for today... WARNING... Many today! ;)

1. Hallelujah FALL is here!! Now where are them Autumn temps??

2. Why is it when we have NO insurance, NO extra money for doctors / dentists... that our teeth decide NOW is the time to act up?? Huh?? Why??? Why??

3. Hubby is feeling much better after his tooth pulling a few weeks ago.

4. He lost about 10 pounds because we think he had the flu on top of all that. (He couldn't keep anything down or in him for several days. Almost took him to the hospital.)

5. Now it's my turn to battle with teeth. Now, I've complained several times before about having broken teeth in the back (molars). One on each side.......

6. So, why is it now, after the one has been broken for a couple years now... & the other about a year, they BOTH decide they're going to cause pain?? Huh... why??

7. I know why... because they know I can't get them fixed right now! Not at least for another 2 months!! UGH!!

8. So, I guess I'm going to start to drink shakes & eat soup for a couple months.

9. Sounds like a good way to loose some weight! (Ok, they're not that bad, yet! It just seems that way at times! What's unusual though is, one or the other would be a little ouchy... last night, BOTH sides decided to start up. I can deal with just one side... but not both at the same time!! ARGH!!)

9a. Really hope Hubby can get dental insurance with this company!!!

10. Hubby has basically told me, last night, I'm not allowed to drive for a little bit. (Ok, this requires more explanation than just a passing thought....)

10a... See, the other day he came home from work & I was having a very bad Chiari day... The headache was not throbbing, but more pressure. So much so that I couldn't really sit up for a bit. So, I had asked him if he would go to the store, please. (We were in need of groceries, big time!)

While sitting at the computer, he couldn't keep his eyes open. So, when I was able to sit up for a bit & move around I told him that, if he'd drive we can both go get groceries. Well, after we were heading to the check out when I felt like I was going to pass out. Thankfully we have a Starbucks in the store, & they have tables. I stopped, told Hubby I was sitting down for a minute & then grabbed the nearest chair. The barista made eye contact & I asked her for a little glass of water. (Not realizing she'd give me about a shot glass worth.) Sat for a minute after that & was able to make it to the check out where I proceeded to unload.

To make a long story short, I STILL hate shopping (for large quantities / or long period of time) because of this. And I think my hubby has realized why. However... this has also sparked concern in him that he doesn't want me driving. Which is very understandable. And no big deal either, since I don't go anywhere, anyway.

Now, don't you all worry... I'M OK!!! I will be just fine! It's just a normal part of my life now... at least it will be until I can see a specialist. Which won't happen until either Hubby can get us back on insurance, or I get approved for Social Security Disability. (Which hopefully will happen by the end of the year... I HOPE & PRAY!!!)

(back to the TOTs... *scrolls back up to see where she left off*) .....

11. I'm wondering if this one tooth is actually a wisdom tooth... though I could swear I had all of them out when I was 18 or 19. (Guess I'm going to have to get a hold of the dentist later on.)

12. Oh... yeah... Hubby just may get sent to Mexico by his new company. ARGH!

13. So, guess who's making all the calls to find out about the vaccines & etc. Yep, you guessed right! Me! (Not that it's a problem.)

14. He's also not sure how long this job will last. He says they have nothing in "the pipeline" after the one machine they're about to start. (There's more to that thought... but it's not really needed on my blog. If he blogged, yeah, but since he doesn't... well... you get the idea!)

15. We think Sunny pulled a muscle in her hind left leg. Poor thing... she's limping around.

16. Oh, but it doesn't bother her if she sees a bunny outside... or even hears the words "outside" or "r-i-d-e". Nope... won't bug her!

17. Same thing goes with Coleman's vision. He looks as if he might be on the early stages of going blind... but he sure can see a bunny rabbit in the neighbors yard at night!! LOL

18. Don't know where I'd be if I didn't have them 2 here to keep me going!!! Seriously... if it wasn't for the dogs, I probably would not go outside! Having to get them out is a blessing!

19. My SL sister is going to be Queen!! Woot! (sneaking it it.)

20. I urge anyone that has headaches a lot to ask your doctor for an MRI... & to show you the results (the written ones). Because most doctors may see the mention of Chiari Malformation, but will shrug it off. It IS a major problem! They just don't want to tell you because they don't want to have to deal with the fact they may have to recommend brain surgery!

21. Ok, they really don't do anything to your brain... but they do have to do something with your skull so that it's not compressing that part of your brain. (That's why it's called "Decompression Surgery") ... They need to release the pressure so that the cerebral fluid will flow properly... so that the rest of your brain can function work the way it should... including blood flow... heart pumping... & etc etc etc.

22. Have I totally bored you to pieces yet? LOL.

23. Hmmm.... NOW I'm getting hungry... Nope, not for oranges! *giggles* Though if I keep talking about it, I may. LOL.

24. Drats... I do NOT have any orange juice! Will add to the list for next time.

25. I hate wired mice!! (That's what I get for leaving my wireless mouse at my sister's on Saturday!) Yes, I'm thankful that we at least had a wired mouse for me to use until I get it back! *winks & grins*

26. I think 30 will be a good number of thoughts. What do you think?? Give myself a goal & now, I can't think of anything else to write! LOL!!!

27. Oh bother, it's raining again! That would explain the pressure I feel at the moment. (See, weather effects these headaches too! ... Actually any change in the barometric pressure effects it. Think about it... it may make sense if you do. ;o)

28. Oh yeah... btw... I've been hooked on Facebook stuff, see... it's not just Second Life that takes me away from here. LOL!!!

29. NaNoWriMo is drawing near... So, I really need to get back into the writing mode! Come November, I'll be doing that 50,000 words in a month challenge again. (More on that in a future blog!)

30. One last hmmm thought... Why is it someone who used to love to socialize is now basically a hermit? (Why? Well, go back & read #10a!!!)

That's THIRTY Thoughts on this rainy 'Welcome to Autumn' Thursday!!!

~ Toodles! ~
*waves & poof*

Monday, September 14, 2009

We've lost another great actor today :*(

Rating:★★★★★
Category:Other
In case you have not heard yet, Patrick Swayze lost his battle with Pancreatic cancer today.

For more info: CLICK HERE

Saturday, September 12, 2009

20 years ago... a fighter was born

It's amazing how fast time goes by after you have a child. It seems just like yesterday that my boss at McD's was sending me home, around 11:00 am, so that I would not go into labor there in the restaurant.

After I went home I decided to take a nap... which didn't last too long, because I woke up with some back pain around 2p. So, I decided to take a shower, keeping a watch near by to time, to make sure it was truly labor pains.

I ended up going to the hospital & at 10:57p my one & only child was born, a son.

When he was born, they said he was definitely fed well. *giggles* I said it was all them Big Mac's! (Actually I ate good while pregnant.)

One thing I do remember during the labor was that a few minutes before he was born they jokingly asked if I wanted to way until after midnight. I'm like, NOOOOOO!

When I received the picture above I said he would be a fighter. I wasn't expecting it to be he & I would fight all the time. Though I do have to say he is getting better with his older age.

Still... he has a long way to go. And that another story for another time.

Time to wrap this up because 1/2 time of the USC vs Ohio State game is almost over & time to get it going again.

Hope you enjoyed this trip down memory lane.

For my son, if he ever sees this....

20 years ago today I had a little boy... he not so little now!!!

Friday, September 11, 2009

TOTs - a day late

All aboard... The Rambling Train is about to embark on another trip!

Doing this in TOTs (Thoughts on Thursday) format (a day late) because... well, it will be easier for me to write & easier for you to read... because I have lots of thoughts to share today.

1. I lost 8 to 10 inches of my hair last night. Yes, went & had my hair cut... it was very needed! (I warned Hubby that after his 1st paycheck I'd bet doing this. He didn't fight me at all on this. Which is GOOD!)

2. Still amazed at how much lighter it feels to have that much gone. (See the difference?)

3. My poor hubby... he's oh so sick. We thought it was from his tooth being pulled out Tuesday evening. However, we just got back from the doctors a little bit ago, which they say it's probably a virus.

4. He's not been able to keep anything down for the past 3 days. So, they gave him something for the nausea & said if doesn't start to feel better by about 5p or so, then he needs to go to the hospital for a blood test.

5. If that's the case, I would probably have to drag him there, or threaten to call for an ambulance, because I'm sure he will try to avoid it, if at all possible. (Mainly because we don't have insurance yet. He's only 3 weeks into this new job.)

6. The nurse practitioner that saw Hubby says the sickness is probably not related to his tooth pulled.

7. If that's the case, Hubby can blame his new boss, because he was sick the 1st week Hubby was on the job. Haha!

8. Now I just have to only hope I don't get sick! We can't afford it!

9. Yeah, I know I'm not working... still can't afford the doctor's visits & medicine & all.

10. Let's round this off with something good... I'm still in shock (disbelief) that my son will be TWENTY years old tomorrow!!! Oh where has the time gone?

11. Yep, that means he's as old as I was when I had him! (If anyone is paying attention, that is.)

12. This sure has been a pretty mild summer (for some of us, for the most part)... Kind of worries me as to what the winter holds? (LET IT SNOW! LET IT SNOW!!!!)

13. Don't get me wrong, I've enjoyed this nice summer... Now almost fall!

14. btw.. I'm not going to do a tribute this year to the September 11th attacks... because I have one from last year that has all the videos & pictures in it. If anyone wants to see it... just leave me a comment & I'll post a link to it, below.

15. Though, LET'S US NEVER FORGET!

*HUGS* to all! :o)